“Hot” Topics

This month I am trying to take the BlogHer challenge to blog every day with the theme “hot”.

I grew up in a family that did not discuss politics. To this day, I don’t have any idea how my parents voted. They did not think it was any one’s business but their own. 

When people talk about politics around me, I mostly listen. I am often astounded by the political rants that you find on Facebook. I do think that it is great to have an opinion and believe in your side of an issue. More power to you if you want to share that feeling. I do take exception to the personal attacks that seem to be so prevalent. The emotions seem to take the issue beyond where the focus should be. Too often, it seems that if you don’t agree then you are a racist or sexist or just plain stupid for not agreeing.

One of the current “hot” issues is gay marriage. In contrast to my nature, I will share with you my feeling on this issue.

I don’t want to know what ANYONE is doing in the privacy of their bedroom. As long as it is two consenting adults, it is NONE of my business. I don’t want to know anything about it. I don’t want to know about your whips, handcuffs, or frequency.

I have never felt that anyone except the two people involved in a relationship can judge a relationship. Look at some the marriages that we have before us in the news. Quite frankly, I wonder why Hillary has stayed with Bill. But it is because it is a relationship between them and only them. They have worked it out somehow and it is none of my business how they did it.

Based on the belief that it is none of my business what goes on in anyone else’s bedroom or in anyone else’s relationship, I don’t understand what should stop gay marriage. It is an issue of equally recognizing that a relationship exists. It allows a celebration of a relationship and the pleasure (no, I am not talking about sex) it brings two people.

I think that committed gay couples should be entitled to the same legal rights that other committed couples receive. They should be able to care for their partner with regard to healthcare issues. They should be eligible to receive each other’ social security and pensions. They should be able to provide health insurance should one of the couple be without. They should be able to inherit the same way other committed couples do. Why would you deny such things to any couple in a committed relationship?

If you thinking “God will get them” then let Him do it. We will all have to face Him and our sins. Gay people are first of all people. They are people for whom life is harder than it already is for the rest of us. Don’t add to the bias and prejudice they experience.

If you don’t want to marry gay couples in your church, then don’t.  You have the right to your feelings and beliefs. Don’t stop the civil institution of marriage because your religious institution doesn’t agree. You have your rights and they should have theirs.

In a Utopian world, we would be free of all prejudice. I do not think this will ever happen but I think we should and can make some things equal. Try to extend to all people the decency that you would like extended to yourself.

So much for “hot” topics! I think I will move on to something like “hot” peppers or “hot” wheels next. This “hot” topic business if pretty hard for me.

Have a great weekend.

About Brian and Carol Early Cooney

CPML Social is a social media management firm for small businesses. We are there to help you - we know that you don't have time to do it all. Whether you are a real estate agent, a musician, an insurance agent, a butcher, a baker or a candlestick maker, we can help you.
This entry was posted in Writing and Photo Prompt Responses and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Hot” Topics

  1. Heather says:

    I think without healthy political debate we can’t have change. But having said that, I’m tired of politics being about trashing the other guy. If you can’t stand up on your own to actually give your platform, then why should I vote for you? No point. There is debate, and then there is slander.

Leave a Reply

